The day my world stopped.

July 23rd 2017

I was 35 weeks pregnant, and had a 13 month old son at the time. My boy and I were visiting with family and I was so exhausted from being so pregnant I didn’t want to drag my rambunctious one year old into the store for milk, so I decided to spend the night at my dads house.

My mom and dad got divorced when I was in fifth grade.

I texted my husband Adam before I fell asleep but never got a reply.

Around 1130 at night my mom and dad came and woke me up. They said they needed to talk to me.

It was weird, my mom was at my dads house so late at night. I didn’t think anything of it though. I was pissed, they just woke me up and my 13 month old son.

My dad sat me down. Now my mom just took my son from me, and my aunt is here too. What the hell did they just wake me up for?

I looked at my dad and said “what?”

He said “Cass,” and he paused. I could tell he was nervous. “Adam was killed in a car accident”

Without missing a beat I said “No he wasn’t. Stop. Why would you lie about this?”

“He went over the center line and was in a head on collision”

Then something weird happened. I remembered that I hadn’t talked to him since that morning. He wasn’t responding to my calls or texts. All of the sudden I got tunnel vision, everyone was in my face.

I stood up to get away from them and collapsed screaming. My husband was dead. I had to go to the coroners office the next morning to identify my husbands body.

I was 35 weeks pregnant, 23 years old, and my husband was dead.

What was i going to do now? How am i going to raise two boys by myself without their dad.

I just couldn’t grasp it.

I miss him so much.